Survival Medicine

Cynthia Harrison Avatar
Photo by Luci on Pexels.com

We finally moved on Christmas Eve, pulling into our new abode about dusk. It is beautiful and spacious and has lots of window sliders to the gardens. Inside there are many boxes but very little furniture. We do have a bed, television, and two chairs. I have my desk too, in fact I have everything for my office, but we are using my office for our little living space while Al paints the actual living room. He’s almost done. I’m not sure if I’ll get my office back today, but I am setting it up in the almost empty box room (someday to be our dining room). We’ve been so busy unloading boxes. I finally got my scented drawer liners for my dresser from Amazon and unpacked my suitcase on NYE. We have his and her closets, so cute!

Once I get myself together with this HEIC jpeg conflict I will be happy to splash photos because I exaggerated before. We have bookshelves too and I’ve got one filled in my office. It looks so good in a little alcove with a print of Frida in an antique frame above it. That was the photo I wanted to post. Just got frustrated trying to convert. Why can I post on Instagram and not Word Press? Anyway…yesterday (and the day before that) we were furniture shopping. We found a great sofa and chair for the living room and it’s coming next week! Well those pieces are, plus a ottoman and rug. The wood stuff, coffee table and end table, won’t be delivered until May. That’s the world these days. We looked at 500 sofas and this was the first one available. And, good luck, it’s my favorite! Very traditional Florida.

There are so many garden patches and palm trees here it’s hard to keep up. I don’t even have a pair of gardening gloves. But we’re managing to water everything. Including the weeds, which look just like Michigan weeds. We had this idea that we’d be in the hot tub drinking wine an hour or so after we moved in. Hahaha. We still have not OPENED the hot tub. But we’re getting there. Floors steamed and walls painted. Desk and chair ready to go. I wrote a scene a few weeks ago when I grabbed a spare couple of hours. I’ve been thinking of the next part of the sequence and oh I’m not sure if it’s the next book or if it’s going to work now…I need to write it to find out.

The holidays usually mess with my writing anyway but this one, well, it’s a whole other bag of toys. But we’re happy and settling in. We woke up Christmas morning, the first morning in our new house, and I thanked Al for my lovely Christmas present. He also insisted on gifting me with The Lyrics by Sir Paul and it’s wonderful reading in my favorite chair, which is the only chair we brought from Michigan. I have always wanted a ranch home and at age 66 I finally got one! It’s the nicest house I’ve ever owned. Maybe it’s the palm trees and the flowers in January or the Spanish Moss waving in the breeze. Maybe it’s because this was home to my ancestors. Now it’s my home, too.

Hope everyone had a good holiday. Back to work! For me that’s writing and I love it too much to think of it as work. More like survival medicine.


8 responses

  1. barbararebbeck

    So happy for you even if your holiday move was a messy one. I remember when we first met, you were doubting  that Al would ever retire. Well, he did & look where you are now! Happy & healthy New Year! BarbSent from my Verizon, Samsung Galaxy smartphone

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cynthia Harrison

      Happy New Year, Barb❣️Al has been a surprise…we knew each other of course but not this deep knowing…I’m trying to live up to my end but I can’t keep up with him. I’ve learned to accept that and let him in more on household decisions. Miss you.

      Like

  2. lydiaschoch

    I hope you’ll get to enjoy your hot tub soon! Good luck with all of your cleaning, unpacking, and organizing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Cynthia Harrison

      Thanks Lydia 😁 all I really want to do is write.

      Like

  3. JT Twissel

    Sounds lovely! Enjoy!

    Like

  4. tidalscribe.com

    Exciting news and no rush to unpack now you are safely in. Happy New Year in your new home.

    Like

  5. Becky Ross Michael

    Congrats on your new home!

    Like

  6. osarobohenry

    Congratulations and enjoy your new abode. Happy new year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.